Love and Life

we become three.

so yesterday, Jonathan and I made a pretty big announcement. if you haven’t seen it, here it is:

we’ve known nearly two months now, which partially explains why I haven’t been blogging much. I haven’t been writing much either.

instead I’ve been quietly processing: there is a life growing inside me, a life I will love better than my own.

the morning we found out I was still on spring break and I had planned a hiking trip with my mom in Ashland City, at a rail trail her organization saved years ago.

Jonathan and I had decided we wanted to keep it between us for a while, and so I didn’t tell my mom that day. instead, i just thought on it quietly, and worried a little whenever we hit a pothole on the drive.

that day, on the hike, we walked along Eagle Pass and counted cranes out on the river, named the wild flowers growing along the rail bed, plucked privet up by its roots. mid-morning, we stopped to see an eagle lighting on her nest, peering through binoculars as the she-bird worked the twigs and branches, making a home suitable for her young.

the last several weeks have been full of so much joy. first, we got to tell our families, who were so thrilled. and we got to share the good news with our close friends, all across the country. we were especially excited to tell our long-time dear friends michael and merrill durham, who had told us a mere week and a half before that they were expecting their first child. our due dates are a little over a week apart. we are so excited.

the last several weeks have also been full of lots of nausea, food aversions, throwing up, and fatigue — but that is just par for the course, and i’ve tried to remind myself as we’ve gone along that it’s really a blessing because it means baby is growing just as she should. it also doesn’t hurt that Jonathan takes ridiculously good care of me.

two days ago Jonathan and I went to the midwives for the first time and got to hear our baby’s heartbeat. to date, i believe it to be the most beautiful sound i have ever heard. the powerful, quick, almost too frantically strong beat of a will to live, to grow, to be born.

and then though we’d expected to have to wait a few days until our ultrasound, a spot opened up right after our first appointment and we got to see him or her: a squirming, dancing little human, his head half the size of his body, arms flailing and legs kicking as if in dance.

does it even suffice to say we are in love already? already completely wrapped up in the one inch wonder growing inside me?

well, here is our first picture of our baby.

IMG_0438

and here we are, a very happy and very in love papa and mama moody.

IMG_0436

(also, check out our back yard in the above photo! what a jungle! we’re loving it.)

5 thoughts on “we become three.

  1. HUGE CONGRATS!! So excited for you — and your MOM! She must be over the moon!

    You will be fantastic parents.

    -Ashley

    Like

  2. Avec toutes mes chaleureuses félicitations, mes jeunes amis!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On May 9, 2013, at 10:26 AM, Jonathan & Rebecca wrote:

    WordPress.com jonathanandrebecca posted: “so yesterday, Jonathan and I made a pretty big announcement. if you haven’t seen it, here it is: we’ve known nearly two months now, which partially explains why I haven’t been blogging much. I haven’t been writing much either. instead I’ve been quietl”

    Like

Leave a Reply

