Uncategorized

Rebecca’s Reading List: 2014

1. The House of the Spirits – Isabel Allende

2. Stardust – Neil Gaiman

3. The Game – A. S. Byatt

4. Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier

5. Angels and Insects – A. S. Byatt

6. Bread and Wine – Shauna Niequist

7. Animal Farm – George Orwell

8. Ethan Frome – Edith Wharton

9. The Shiva Tide – by my dad, Don Mooradian (you’ll want to read this when it gets published)

10. The Tale of the Rose: The Love Story Behind The Little Prince – Consuelo de Saint-Exupéry

11. Sand County Almanac: And Sketches Here and There – Aldo Leopold

12. Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life – Anne Lamott

13. Don’t Tell the Grown-Ups: The Subversive Power of Children’s Literature –  Alison Lurie

14.  Vol de nuit – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

15. The Magician’s Assistant – Ann Patchett

16. How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character – Paul Tough

17. Hard Times – Charles Dickens

18. Persuasion – Jane Austen

19. The Anthologist: A Novel  Nicholson Baker

20. Heaven on Earth: A Handbook for Parents of Young Children – Sharifa Oppenheimer

21. Mansfield Park – Jane Austen

22. The Victorian Fairy Tale Book – Compiled by Michael Patrick Hearn

 

I was feeling pretty bad about how little I read in 2014 (and knew I’d done worse than 2013), but once compiled it’s not too embarrassing a list, considering I had a baby to contend with all year. Favorite read? Probably Rebecca (not because of the title, I swear). My dad’s book is also tops. Least favorite read? Probably either of the Byatt books, which is a little disappointing since for years her other novel Possession has been my favorite novel. Also, Ethan Frome is a serious bummer, but not a poorly written bummer.

Here’s to hoping I read more in 2015! I’m already off to a great start (currently loving Karen Russell), and I got so many other wonderful books as Christmas presents.

Happy new year, y’all!

One thought on “Rebecca’s Reading List: 2014

  1. I always love Isabel Allende, and I’m definitely requesting Heaven on Earth from the library. Today I finished Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Do you have a goodreads account? That’s my favorite way to keep track of my to-read list. Jhumpa Lahiri’s Lowlands is next up for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

